Geriatric Medicine: Awards

The Barry J. Goldlist Teacher of the Year Award

This award is presented annually to a division member who has demonstrated excellence in teaching in the postgraduate program by the current year’s resident cohort. This award was named in honour of Dr. Goldlist’s outstanding dedication as a leader in the field of geriatric medicine and serves as an enduring legacy of his visionary leadership, mentorship and contributions to education.

Academic Year

Award Recipient

2018 - 2019 Karen Ng
2017-2018 Vicky Chau
2016-2017 Shabbir Alibhai
2015-2016 Camilla Wong
2014-2015 Karen Ng
2013-2014 Dov Gandell
2012-2013 Dov Gandell
2011-2012 Barry Goldlist
2010-2011 Barry Goldlist
2009-2010 Thiru Yogaparan
2008-2009 Thiru Yogaparan
2007-2008 Terumi Izukawa
2006-2007 Shabbir Alibhai
2004-2005 Terumi Izukawa
2003-2004 Shabbir Alibhai
2002-2003 Sharon Marr
2001-2002 Shabbir Alibha
2000-2001 Heather McDonald
1999-2000 Karen Fruetel
1998-1999 Karen Fruetel
1997-1998 Karen Fruetel
1996-1997 Barry Goldlist
1995-1996 Barry Goldlist
1994-1995 Barry Goldlist
1993-1994 Jim Kirkland

The Esther and Saul Baker Award

The prestigious Esther and Saul Baker Awards are presented annually to clinicians and medical trainees in recognition of their excellent and outstanding contributions in the care of older patients across Mount Sinai and the University Health Network Hospitals.

The original Saul Baker Awards were established in 1995 by the late Dr. Gerald Baker, Head of Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery at Mount Sinai Hospital and Dr. Michael Baker, UHN's former Physician-in-Chief after their father, Saul Baker, died in 1993. Mr. Baker’s sons and family created these awards for two reasons, first – to-honour their father and second - to thank and recognize the staff of the UHN Geriatrics Program who provided him with the compassionate and expert care he needed near the end of his life.

Since 1995, outstanding medical residents, nurses and allied health professionals at the University Health Network who demonstrate excellence and outstanding contributions in the care of older patients have been continually honoured with this distinguished award.

This awards program, had a landmark year in 2011, when with the Baker family's continued support, the awards were expanded to include Mount Sinai Hospital in recognition of the development of a new combined Geriatrics Program that now spans Sinai Health System and the University Health Network and has become the largest academic geriatrics program in the Greater Toronto Area and possibly Canada, that now trains the largest numbers of medical trainees in geriatrics as well. The family also supported the renaming of this new expanded awards program to also honour Esther Baker, Saul’s wife as well, who has for nearly 20 years presented the award to its recipients.

2011 the award was also expanded to include an additional category of recipients - Geriatric Medicine Fellows who demonstrate excellence in geriatric care and demonstrate promise in making future contributions in the field of Geriatrics; 2012 saw an additional category made to recognize outstanding medical students as well.

The Esther and Saul Baker Awards are presented each spring at an annual event that includes all generations of the Baker family and help provide us all an opportunity to reflect on the growth of geriatrics as a specialty in Canada, and the contributions that the Baker Family have made in supporting its development for close to two decades.

Academic Year

Award Recipients


Dr. Patrick Jung (tied Geriatric Medicine Fellow)*
Dr. Richard Norman (tied Geriatric Medicine Fellow)*
Dr. Savannah Forrester (Geriatric Emergency Medicine Fellow)
Dr. Sally Engelhart (Medical Resident)
Dr. Natalie Daly (Physiatry Resident)
Victoria Chuen (Medical Student)
Lydia Chan (MSH Social Worker)
Rana Jin (PMH Nurse)
Oriana Medeiros (TWH Occupational Therapist)


Dr. Katie Krause (Geriatric Medicine Fellow)*
Dr. Brittany Ellis (Geriatric Emergency Medicine Fellow)
Dr. Alexander Zach Day (Medical Resident)
Dr. Emma Mauti (Medical Resident)
Corrie Vincent (Medical Student)
Helen Levin (TWH Social Worker)
Jane Ren (PMH Nurse)
Natasha Bhesania (MSH Physiotherapist)
Angelo Mari Panganiban (MSH Pharmacist)


Dr. Katrina Piggott (Geriatric Medicine Fellow)*Dr. Inna Genkin (Family Medical Resident)
Dr. Patrick Jung (Medical Resident)*

Mr. Elliot Lass (Medical Student)
Ms. Alicia Brancier (TWH Nurse)
Ms. Sabrina Haq (SHS Pharmacist)
Ms. Katie Stock (TRI Social Worker)


Dr. Martha Carmichael (Geriatric Medicine Fellow)*
Dr. McKyla McIntyre (Psychiatry Resident)
Dr. Laura Budd (Medical Resident)
Ms. Rukia Swaleh (Medical Student)
Ms. Allison Loucks (PMH Nurse)
Mrs. Catherine Kerry (BP OT)


Dr. Marissa Bonyun (Orthopedics Resident)
Dr. Amanda Gardhouse (Geriatric Medicine Fellow)*
Dr. Amanda Goldberg (Medical Resident)*
Mr. Martin Rotenberg (tied Medical Student)
Mr. Mohammed Farooqi (tied Medical Student)
Ms. Leanne Verscheure (MSH Nurse)
Ms. Senait Werkelul (TWH Nurse)


Dr. Jason Kerr (Geriatric Medicine Fellow)*
Dr. Anna Holland (tied Medical Resident)
Dr. Antonio Gallo (tied Medical Resident)
Ms. Elizabeth Niedra (tied Medical Student)
Mr. Eric Kaplovitch (tied Medical Student)
Ms. Angella Anderson (TRI Nurse)
Ms. Mary Ann Hamelin (MSH Nurse)


Dr. Dan Liberman (tied Geriatric Medicine Fellow)*
Dr. Catherine Talbot Hamon (tied Geriatric Medicine Fellow)*
Dr. Amol Verma (Medical Resident)
Ms. Katrina Piggott (Medical Student)*
Ms. Raynia Sauvageau (MSH Social Worker)
Ms. April Micks/Ms. Janet Pilgrim (TWH Patient Care Coordinators)


Dr. Vicky Chau (Geriatric Medicine Fellow)*
Dr. Grace Leung (Medical Resident)*
Mr. Nathan Stall (Medical Student)
Ms. Katherine Reece (TWH Occupational Therapist)
Ms. Carmelina Marziliano (MSH Social Worker)


Dr. Karen Ng (Geriatric Medicine Fellow)*
Dr. Raza Naqvi (tied, Medical Resident) *
Dr. Jarred Rosenberg (tied, Medical Resident) *
Ms. Helen Levin (TWH Social Worker)
Mr. Chris Fan-Lun (MSH Pharmacist)


Dr. Raymond Kim (medical resident)

Ms. Carol Banez (nurse)


Dr. Nishi Varshney (medical resident)

Ms. Alison Lake (occupational therapist)


Dr. Joanne Ho (medical resident)
Ms. Nadia Ianetta (physiotherapist)


Dr. Mini Joshipura (medical resident)

Ms. Oriana Medeiros (occupational therapist)


Dr. Rupert Abdalian (medical resident)

Ms. Sandra Tully (nurse)


Dr. Camilla Wong (medical resident)

Ms. Helen Levin & Zoë Levitt (social workers)


Dr. Jacqueline Tsang (medical resident)

Ms. Elizabeth O (occupational therapist)

2002-2003 Ms. Beth Curiale (nurse manager)
2001-2002 Dr. Dante Morra (medical resident)
2000-2001 Ms. Kathryn Anne Gemmill (nurse)
1999-2000 Dr. Brendan McCormick (medical resident)
1998-1999 Dr. Wendy Cook (medical resident)
1997-1998 Ms. Sylvia Davidson (occupational therapist)
1996-1997 Dr. George Heckman (medical resident)*
1995-1996 Larry Carriere (nurse)
1994-1995 (inaugural year)

Shabbir Alibhai (medical resident)
Floy Crossdale (nurse)

*Denotes Currently Practicing Geriatrician


Back to Division of Geriatric Medicine